i Cryptic Crossword 1837 Anax

December 28, 2016

We’re all going out this morning – not to worry, I told my wife, I want to get the paper, do the cryptic, and get a blog out quickly beforehand, but that’s OK, it won’t take long. Because it’s a Wednesday and a Wednesday means Dac, of course. Thank you, editor… Cue a rushed solve and some relentless cheating to fill the grid and have a look at what the good folk on Fifteensquared thought of this. A confident S(COLD) for 7ac wasn’t the best start, but the fairly obvious anagram at 1d put me right on this quickly enough. Needless to say it’s a toughie, and there’s a clever pangram thing going on where each answer starts with a different letter of the alphabet. But it’s a bit more than I’m looking for in a daily cryptic, that I’m hoping to complete usually during a hurried lunch. Perhaps Eimi figures we’ve got time on our hands now we’re edging towards the new year. 🙂

COD? 11d – ‘It’s getting away (5,7)’.

We seem to have given up on festive reprints, and are back to the summer of 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/07/17/independent-8036anax/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1837 Anax”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes … I’ll confess to feeling just a touch of amiable schadenfreude when I saw Anax’s name beside the crossword this morning. Quite the most infuriating puzzle in ages, and I’m glad it wasn’t me blogging it. A real struggle to finish today, but good stuff.

  2. JP said

    In 13 across the cue would give you ‘vertoc’ surely. ‘Veto’ hedges around ‘r’ then ‘c’.

Comments are closed.

