i Cryptic Crossword 1833 Radian

December 23, 2016

At last the festive themed puzzle we have all been looking forward to!?  This was a prize puzzle and it originally appeared on Christmas Eve 2011. I didn’t think it was too difficult and for me the one really obscure answer was at 25d. Not many oddities in the clues although I hadn’t come across Balt describing someone from Latvia before or the Latin reference in 20a, those aside I have lots of ticks, too many to mention so I’ll go straight to the  COD-

23a      Boxer, say, can’t initially bear ropes (5)

Back  2011 for the Fifteensquared blog and not much comment.

Happy Christmas .

 

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1833 Radian”

  1. jonofwales said

    And a Merry Christmas to you! 🙂

    I started off pretty quickly with this, but slowed down as I moved south. The RES in 20ac and E for base in 7d I thought far too obscure for a daily cryptic, but the rest was thoroughly enjoyable, with a few ticks and smiles by the clues.

  2. AndyT said

    A thoroughly congenial teatime diversion, except for 25d – further proof of Arachne’s Law. “First bodyguards” indeed. And whilst I have my Victor Meldrew head on, the vertical format is not to my taste: hot metal chappies take note, please.

    Unseasonable moaning out of the way, a very Merry Christmas to everyone. 🙂

    • allan_c said

      At least with the puzzle on the outside edge of the page one doesn’t have to take the staples out before the paper can be folded satisfactoriiy.

      But a Merry Christmas to all.

      PS I see the clue to 29ac was suitably edited for the reprint.

  3. dtw42 said

    Much the same here – 25dn and 20ac were our last ones in, the bottom half having been a slower solve than the top…

Comments are closed.

