i Cryptic Crossword 1832 Crosophile

December 22, 2016

When I saw Crosophile’s name I thought this must be an IoS reprint, but became less sure when I struggled, and struggled, and eventually limped home with a time that was totally off the scale. That I persevered shows that I found this to be engaging, if infuriating, but still, this is a big jump in difficulty from what we were used to from Quixote.

The definition at 9ac left me slightly baffled, but I suppose it just about works. The rest seemed fair, if convoluted in places.

COD? Well, it is the festive season, so I’ll got with 19d – ‘Xmas tree will, done up in a bow say? (8)’.

We’re back to January 2012 today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/01/22/independent-on-sunday-1143-by-crosophile/

This will be my last post before the big day, so a Merry Christmas to one and all. 🙂

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1832 Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    I’m getting to like Crosophile’s puzzles more and more. No obscurities in this one … a few eyebrow-raisers, mind you, but nothing which couldn’t be rationalised with a bit of lateral thinking. Thoroughly entertaining stuff which earned quite a few ticks.

  2. sprouthater said

    Generally enjoyed this, it was 1d and 12a that I had trouble parsing, slice indicating the initial was new to me and I can’t say that I liked it. Those apart and the inclusion of (to me) an obscure poet it was all good.

  3. dtw42 said

    Got there in the end, but it took me a while. Enjoyed most of it, but there were a couple of cryptic indicators I was a bit miffed by: rather like Cumbrian over on fifteensquared, I didn’t like “recurrence” to indicate reversal … and wasn’t sure about “pastiched” as an anagram indicator either (the anagram was obvious enough at 4dn though so it didn’t hinder solving).
    2dn was last-one-in.

    • Jimbo said

      I can echo AndyT’s comments. I’ve started looking forward to Crosophile’s 14 good puzzles. I know I’m in for a tough solve but if I’m 2, there’s plenty of reward with perseverance. Lots of ticks and a few LOL moments today, such as 8 and 21.

      Happy 19 everybody!

    • AndyT said

      That “recurrence” was one of the eyebrow-raisers, so I checked. “Turning back so as to reverse direction” according to Oxford.

  4. allan_c said

    Quite tough, but solved without help and fairly quickly after I got 17ac – it took a while to work out what the anagram fodder was.
    Christmas being a time for chestnuts here’s an old one related to 22dn, from, I think, “Beyond our Ken” (forerunner of “Round the Horne”): “… and next week we’ll be having a talk on Ethics, by a native of Thuthics.”
    And a Merry Christmas to all!

Comments are closed.

