i Cryptic Crossword 1826 Nestor

December 15, 2016

It’s Nestor, and a Saturday prize puzzle reprint, so I was expecting a bit of a challenge, and that’s what I got. For a while I thought there might have been some sort of theme, with 1ac, and ONE appearing a couple of times in the grid (not to say an unusual looking grid), but it appears that there wasn’t. It is a pangram, apparently, though I completely failed to notice. The 2012 blogger said that this was “a relatively straightforward puzzle for a Saturday”, so perhaps I’m just being slow.

COD? Lots and lots to like, but I’ll go with 11ac – ‘Old Manchester group including Liberal anti-nationalist (3-7)’.

The tail end of July 2012 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/07/28/independent-8040-nestor-saturday-prize-crossword-210712/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1826 Nestor”

  1. AndyT said

    Straightforward relative to what, I wonder? Fantastic puzzle if you ask me: challenging but rewarding, and with a remarkably consistent high standard of clue writing. I’m glad it didn’t fall to me to pick out a COD from such a rich selection of candidates … 11ac will do very nicely though. Nestor gets a “bravo” from me today.

  2. sprouthater said

    Found some of this just too complicated and the answers only vaguely connected to the clue,1a, 14a and 7d for instance. Your COD 11a ,New Order who are they? And I’ve never heard of the solution either plus a couple of old television programmes that were, in my case instantly forgettable. Amongst the rest 8d, 10d and 24a were the ones I found most satisfactory.

  3. Cornick said

    Definitely not straightforward, BertorJoyce, a real stretch if you ask me – but by Crikey it was good. Puzzle of the week, surely, despite some strong competition and I completely agree with AndyT above as to the consistency of top-notch cluing.

    Fortunately New Order, Dr Finlay’s Casebook, Triple-tonguing, Orological and a few other fell within the bounds of my general knowledge, but only just!

    And that was an unusual grid, wasn’t it? Given that a 15 x 15 grid lends itself to odd-numbered lights, it’s the first time I’ve noticed one where all the answers were of even-number length. (Bit nerdy that, sorry!)

    • AndyT said

      Otological, surely?

      Puzzle of the week for me, and then some, unless Eimi has something remarkable up his sleeve for tomorrow.

  4. dtw42 said

    Sorry folks, I didn’t get far enough into this to find the eventual enjoyments you did. I solved about six, got thoroughly stuck, and bailed out. Ah well.

Comments are closed.

