i Cryptic Crossword 1821 Mordred

December 9, 2016

I’m always pleased when I answer the first clue straight off the bat, the second followed likewise but after that  quite a few obscurities arose to slow my progress, notably 20a which a search on Fifteensquared shows this puzzle as the only time its been used, as it was an anagram it didn’t prove to difficult and only needed checking in a dictionary to confirm, unlike 1d and 8d which both needed help from the internet. Other grimaces from me were for 29a gettable but I thought pretty flimsy, 5d print = trail  really? that’s a bit of a stretch but not as much as my LOI 13a,  probably the worst clue and definition I’ve seen in a long while and spoiled the whole thing for me.

There were quite a few ticks though 1,7 and 24a and 17d particularly but for

COD 2d  Needing a lift back at around one, inebriate finally gets to do this (4,1,3)

Click here for the Fifteensquared blog.

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1821 Mordred”

  1. AndyT said

    Can’t help but agree with you about 13ac, which was gettable but pretty dashed unsporting. Had it been “Fergie” I’d have quite liked it. A pity, that, because otherwise the puzzle was a pleasantly palatable surprise, and not the over-baked rock cake I tend to expect when Mordred’s name comes up. 23ac has been updated, it seems: an improvement in my opinion.

  2. jonofwales said

    Not as intractable as some Thursday Indy reprints, but no walk in the park either. I spent too long trying to shoehorn (Peter) Firmin into 1d, and wasn’t impressed by the definition at 13ac (my LOI), but the rest was an enjoyable challenge. Lots I didn’t fully understand when solving, chief amongst them 29ac which I’m not convinced really works.

Comments are closed.

