i Cryptic Crossword 1818 Radian

December 6, 2016

A clutch of linked clues today. My approach to this sort of puzzle is to ignore them entirely and work through the plain ones, and with a bit of luck the mental engine will be purring by the time I get back to them. Radian was generous enough to provide plenty of eminently solvable material to get proceedings under way, and after the first read through half the grid was full and your humble blogger was in good humour.

It’s probably fair to say that most solvers will want a book in front of them to check on the thematic answers, and in this case it isn’t a dictionary. All will become clear, no doubt, and in my case that just left a few stragglers in the top left area … and boy, did I make heavy weather of them. 3d and 9ac were forehead-slappers, 1d was pretty recondite, and as for 11ac, that’s rather too vague a cryptic definition for my taste. Never mind – all told this was a particularly enjoyable puzzle with plenty of nicely turned out clues to enjoy. Nothing stands out head and shoulders above the rest, but I’m sure we can all appreciate 21ac:

“Crackpot? She’ll ignore punctuation (7)”

For solutions and discussion, please see the July 2012 Fifteensquared blog.

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1818 Radian”

  1. jonofwales said

    This kind of puzzle isn’t really my cup of tea, which is a pity, as we seem to be getting a lot of them of late. I also found it a bit of struggle, which probably didn’t do much to improve my mood. I needed references to the book in question for one or two, and must admit to, at the close, bunging in 8ac and 3d on a wing and a prayer because I’d had enough, based on checking letters and, for the former, the definition. As it turned out, by a miracle, both were correct.

  2. sprouthater said

    A few good clues but mostly an unpleasant experience for me.

  3. Cornick said

    A theme which was, for once, up my street – so I was a happy bunny today. (Wait till you read my views on Saturdays theme though!)
    Didn’t care for 1d, which I tried to make ‘chastity belt’ for far too long and which was eventually solved with a grimace.
    But I did like the cryptic at 11a.

    • AndyT said

      There was a theme on Saturday? šŸ˜‰

      It was rather the reverse with 1d and 11ac here: I had the right sort of instrument in mind from the start but the term was unfamiliar. As for “200 years ago” I was too much of a clever clogs and became fixated on 1812 (assuming the puzzle was from 2012), and was looking for something to do with Napoleon’s retreat from Moscow or, just possibly, the assassination of Spencer Perceval. The correct answer was my LOI and got a groan.

  4. dtw42 said

    FWIW, I spotted the theme after getting 12ac, which was a bit of an old chestnut, and it was relatively straightforward after that. …Apart from 3dn was my LOI by quite some way.

Comments are closed.

