i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1810 by Phi

December 3, 2016

Saturday 26th November 2016

One of the tougher Phi puzzles I thought but (and unlike yesterday’s Monk for example) I did manage to finish it without succumbing to the temptations of either Chambers Word Wizard  or my favourite anagram solving site.

A good mental workout as ever; in common with several at the Fifteensquared blog here, my last one in was the tricky to parse ITSELF at 1d.

And our general knowledge was given a bit of a test too, if you recall, with IKAT, MARTINU, PIRANDELLO and OORT CLOUD. Only the last was entirely new for me – although having said that, and now I type it, it does seem oddly familiar. Funny how crosswords can do that to you…

As for what was ‘going on’, I think having four 15-letterers was quite enough to keep our setter busy whilst compiling this particular grid.

COD? 8d  Car problem has cricketer out in flannel  (8)

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1810 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Highly enjoyable, as I recall. My LOI was 1d too, which struck me as brilliant.

  2. jonofwales said

    Definitely on the tricky side, but there again Phi seems to be most weeks now. I can remember when he used to be a pretty straightforward end to the week, with hardly a theme in sight. 🙂

  3. Rick King said

    Missed out on getting the paper last week, from there comments I either dodged a bullet or missed a challenging puzzle..maybe both…

Comments are closed.

