i Cryptic Crossword 1815 Monk

December 2, 2016

A real toughie from Monk today, well it beat me anyway, 20a was not in my lexicon, however the wordplay proves very clever. A lot of this puzzle seemed to me to rely on abbreviations, some obvious from the clue but others seemed quite obscure both 1d and 14d getting grimaces from me. As usual a lot were solved without a full understanding of the wordplay among those were 12a where we deduce “make” from “flow” hmm. Of course there is always someone who can offer a justification but I think that its a bit tenuous also 1a did anyone solve this from cryptic part of the clue?  There were of course some more accessible answers the one I liked best was –

COD  3d    Lover ascending before descent for nothing (4,3)

The blog from July 2012 and all the parsing can be found here    http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/07/14/independent-8028-sat-07-july-2012-monk/

 

 

 

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1815 Monk”

  1. AndyT said

    Three hard boiled ones this week, then. I enjoyed this – or at least I decided that I had once it was finished. You are not alone in finding 12ac a bit dubious: “flow” was an obfuscation too far for my tastes, never mind what it says in the special crossword compilers’ dictionary. I did manage to parse 1ac retrospectively after the answer was evident, but it’s definitely in the “hmm” category. That said, there’s plenty of scintillating clue writing elsewhere by way of compensation.

    Amusing to note that there is a Nina (oh yes … that’s jolly clever actually), and that the setter considers it helpful enough to compensate for the under-checking and rather sparsely connected grid. Thank you, Brother Monk – it didn’t help me in the slightest. 🙂

  2. Cornick said

    Classic idea for the Nina – I only wish I’d spotted it!

    I found this the toughest of the week and needed some electronic help to stagger over the line. Loads of ticks though for some brilliantly inventive cluing as ever from Monk.

  3. jonofwales said

    What I was looking for today was something I could solve quickly during a curtailed lunch break. Which wasn’t this puzzle. 🙂 We seem to be getting a lot of Saturday reprints in the same week which, together with old Indy Thursday puzzles (which was always the hard day of the week), make for pretty tough going. I fear the editor’s got it in for us.

Comments are closed.

