i Cryptic Crossword 1814 Klingsor

December 1, 2016

A reasonably challenging offering today from Klingsor that took quite a bit of unpicking in places. Thankfully a few of the longer answers were write-ins otherwise this would have taken longer still. Sorry to be so brief, but work beckons…

Lots to like, with COD going to 3d – ‘Who’s a poser? (4-3)’.

Back to June 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/06/28/independent-8020-klingsor/

10 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1814 Klingsor”

  1. dtw42 said

    I was prepared for this to be a toughie, since I often have trouble with Klingsor, but actually it was my fastest solve of the week so far.

  2. AndyT said

    … whereas it took me longer than Tuesday’s Anax. Super puzzle though, with some first class deviousness going on.

    Why is it snowing inside my computer?

  3. Cornick said

    If ever at the St Austell Music & Drama Festival and waiting through various junior chamber orchestras for one’s son to have a bash, be sure to have a Klingsor in your coat pocket, that’s what I always say.
    Thoroughly enjoyable as ever. Failed to parse RE(a)CTORS properly but otherwise completely logical and apparent (once you’ve got the answer, that is!) as we’ve come to expect from this watertight setter.

  4. The Olympian said

    Don’t normally comment on here but I just had to say that 17 is probably my favourite clue of the year… The involuntary wince I let out when I twigged the ‘she’s fairly shocked’ bit made the wife look askance at me.

  5. allan_c said

    No recollection of doing this before – I must have missed it somehow – so all new to me. Some head-scratching and several ‘aha’ moments. Started off on the wrong track with 4ac trying to make ‘woolly hat’ (from the ‘Where’s Wally’ pictures) fit but of course there were too many letters. Favourites included BOSWELL and the &lit-ish ALL SOULS’ DAY.

  6. PJ said

    As above, found this thrillingly tough and got but couldn’t parse rectors. Hats off to those who found it a doddle.

Comments are closed.

