i Cryptic Crossword 1812 Anax

November 29, 2016

Speak of the devilish and he’s sure to appear – this is what I get for mentioning Anax in passing yesterday. Unsurprisingly this old Saturday prize puzzle from June 2012 was on the tough side, although it has to be said that Anax can be a good deal more refractory than this when the mood takes him.

Our theme today relates to 4d: the one clue I couldn’t parse. A glance at the Fifteensquared blog entry explains why, and I’m not even slightly embarrassed by my ignorance of Whigfield. Some features of this crossword encroach upon barred grid territory and that won’t please everybody: 15, 19 and 22 are perhaps a bit thick for a weekday, really. However, none of the solutions are especially obscure, so that’s something, and there are some terrific clues. 1, 13, 20, 21, 23, 25/8 … all top 18ac. I’m going to break my rule and nominate a themed one for COD:

9d: “Woman who does not sell up has left out 4 (10)”

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1812 Anax”

  1. jonofwales said

    I must admit to finding this to be, for the most part, completely impenetrable. Perhaps with time to spare on a Saturday I might have persevered, but I didn’t, so didn’t. 🙂 Too many obscurities, the gateway clue being chief among them. A big thumbs down from me I’m afraid.

  2. dtw42 said

    Very odd: at about 9.15 this morning I was completely stuck, with only 12ac [ahem] answered, and fearing it was going to be another one to discard hardly-started. But scraping together 10ac gave me “_I_H_” (which had to be _IGHT) as a way into the anagram of 25/8, which in turn enabled me to solve 4dn and then I was okay. (Yes, I agree the reference to Whigfield was too obscure.) By ten past ten I was done. Phew!

  3. sprouthater said

    Had to use Google to find out what Whigfield was.Whilst none of the solutions were particularly obscure some of their components were, chief among these do me were 15 and 22a but the worst was 16d . Still don’t get that.

    • dtw42 said

      My assumption was port = def.; duty’s raised = rev.(VAT’s); please, no! = opposite of to please = to ANGER. But I agree that the last part of that is clunky.

  4. Cornick said

    Whigfield is a one-hit-wonder I’m familiar with, but if you’d asked me to guess, I’d have had her as either Dutch or German…
    Anyhow this eventually all proved much more solvable than it first appeared, although I must confess to bunging in a few on the RHS without bothering to parse them, so thanks for the link. 🙂

Comments are closed.

