i Cryptic Crossword 1808 Eimi

November 24, 2016

Originally produced to mark the death of this man, a host of clues reference what is probably his most famous work. Not that I noticed, despite having read it several times. Anyway, without knowing that, this puzzle was an enjoyable, reasonably straightforward offering. I had no idea who 32ac was referring to, but the first part of the DD was clear enough. Some controversy over the definition at 2d over in the comments on Fifteensquared, but my scientific knowledge isn’t up to arguing either way…

COD? 26d – ‘Stones tune covered by Crosby and Nash? (5)’.

June 2012 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/06/18/independent-8011-by-eimi/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1808 Eimi”

  1. AndyT said

    I always have to give my head a wobble to get on Eimi’s wavelength, but his puzzles are invariably good fun. It was obvious that there was something fiendishly clever bubbling away under the surface, but the theme isn’t something I know much about. Never mind: highly enjoyable all the same.

  2. dtw42 said

    4ac was my LOI (the singer in question may have been topical in 2012 but she isn’t now, and “late singer” doesn’t really narrow it down much). Couldn’t parse the cryptic bit – the REM reference passed me by completely. As did the theme: I’ve recently read The Illustrated Man but that’s the extent of my Bradbury experience.
    The rest of the puzzle I actually managed quite smoothly, despite the number of obscurities (TSE was, I thought, a bit rich) and a number that I didn’t quite understand. Has ANYBODY heard of 9dn?

  3. sprouthater said

    Enjoyed some of it but but 4a and 9d were a bit obscure, I can’t find 27d in the dictionary and TSE?

Comments are closed.

