i Cryptic Crossword 1807 Crosophile

November 23, 2016

Crosophile steps into Dac’s shoes with a puzzle that was perhaps a little more difficult than we’re used to on a Wednesday, but not by far. Solving time a fair way below par for the i. There’s a Nina I miserably failed to spot, but I was in a bit of a rush. That’s my excuse anyway. 🙂 Quite a few I didn’t bother fully parsing when I solved, which sometimes gets me in trouble, but I got away with it today.

COD? 8d – ‘Looking back, a glimpse of deer? (9)’.

To the warmer days of June 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/06/27/independent-8019-crosophile/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1807 Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    Having been less than complimentary about some of Crosophile’s puzzles, it pleases me no end to be able to say that I thought this was a little cracker. A straightforward but entertainingly witty puzzle with an unobtrusive Nina which – just for once – I spotted. Good stuff.

  2. sprouthater said

    Decent enough puzzle, like you I didn’t parse all of it and failed to spot the Nina but then I didn’t look for it:-) . I do like the use of words like 4d and 26a, words not so obscure the I’ve never heard of them but are lodged in the dusty recesses of my brain hopefully to used at a later date.

  3. Cornick said

    I did this thinking it was a Dac – and I still can’t help thinking it was remarkably Dac-like in all bar a couple of clues. Thoroughly enjoyed and completed in short order. Really liked 15d amongst others. Missed not just setter’s name but also Nina.

  4. dtw42 said

    Solved here with relatively little fuss too; all seemed sensible enough. Didn’t spot the nina either – but, like Sprouthater above, I wasn’t really looking for one.

Comments are closed.

