i Cryptic Crossword 1806 Scorpion

November 22, 2016

A welcome reappearance by one of my favourite Indy compilers after a long absence. As far as I can remember, Scorpion simply doesn’t do “plain” crosswords, and here we have a pervasive theme relating to 22 across – which is a rather natty little clue in itself. Once that goes in the pace should pick up considerably, but Scorpion has been kind enough to scatter a few gentle ones around to get proceedings under way.

Plenty of variety today, some sneaky definitions, a couple of chuckles and a spot of controversy concerning 10ac and 19d (both of which I was happy with). For some discussion of that, along with the solutions and analysis please see the Fifteensquared blog entry, posted by the estimable Bertandjoyce back in June 2012. Oh, and it’s a pangram to boot. Lots of ticks, but I’ll single out a few: 12, 13, 15 and 28ac, and 1, 3, 6, 17 and 18d. My (non-thematic) clue of the day is 5d:

“George eats up small Indian (8)”.

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1806 Scorpion”

  1. jonofwales said

    Did I mention that geography isn’t my strong point? To my shame I had no idea which county 8ac, 18d or 13ac are in, despite have visited all three, so as you can imagine I struggled somewhat today. Gah.

  2. dtw42 said

    Breezed through this except for 10ac which I couldn’t get. Have never heard of the place. Surely there must be a threshold for size/familiarity of geographical names in crosswords? British cities and major towns or towns well-known for a specific thing, fine … villages, though?

    • AndyT said

      Well, 10ac enjoys a fair measure of fame as a location for filming period dramas … in fact I daresay that anybody whose idea of a good time is to sit through a multi part adaptation of something polite by Jane Austen or Mrs Gaskell will probably have heard of it. No, me neither, but my mum was keen on such things and must have bent my ear about it once upon a time.

  3. sprouthater said

    Nothing too troubling here. Been through 10a umpteen times but didn’t get it till I checked a list of aviators. Don’t think 5d would be pleased at being called an Indian.

  4. Cornick said

    Slow to crack the ‘gateway’ clue, but once WILTS was there the rest fairly flew in. Geography’s my long suit, fortunately and the West Country my home, but LACOCK was still only got from the wordplay. Some ambiguity in the term ‘advancing’… does it mean moving towards the front or, as here, towards the back?

Comments are closed.

