i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1798 by Phi

November 19, 2016

Saturday 12th November 2016

 

I am constantly surprised when experienced bloggers like nmsindy and RatkojaRiku, who I know are much better at solving crosswords than me, fail to spot a Nina in a Phi puzzle.  Here are the clues that there might be one:  1. It’s Phi. 2. There are peripheral unches. 3. There are several obscure entries. 4. There is no apparent theme. 5. It’s Phi – which is worth saying twice.

To explain, Phi gave us a play on Rene Magritte’s infamous ‘This is not a pipe’ painting by having ‘CECI N’EST PAS UNE PERIPHERIE’ as a peripheral Nina – arf!

Anyhow, the Nina helped me finish the tricky ones on the right hand side and gave me a laugh too.

COD? Given that the excellent 5d has lost its topicality, I’ll go for 9a, a tricky word, elegantly clued:

Permit cut in most of moist cheese (8)

Full blog and discussion from 2012 here.

 

And a first ever puzzle for the Indy by some poacher-cum-gamekeeper called Maize can be found here – complete with a slightly disappointing typo in 4a where three words have been run together.

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1798 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Oh, how I laughed at that Nina … just now, because I didn’t spot it, obviously. That really is very droll. Such high falutin’ stuff aside, the puzzle seemed a bit tougher than usual for Phi, but highly enjoyable. Nice to see King Cophetua in there: further proof that the Art History A-Level I did for the fun of it donkeys’ years ago does have its uses every once in a while.

  2. jonofwales said

    I found this a little tricky in places, and missed the Nina. But on the other hand it was Saturday morning when I tend to be a little below par. 😊

    Congratulations on the Indy debut, well deserved! I’ll have to have a look later.

  3. AndyT said

    Oh gosh, I meant to extend my congratulations too – so sorry, Cornick. Bravo!

  4. sprouthater said

    Needed dictionary and encyclopedia to finish this. Well done on your Indy debut. It must be tough its crashed my browser twice:-)

Comments are closed.

