i Cryptic Crossword 1802 Hypnos

November 17, 2016

An enjoyable, fairly straightforward IoS reprint. AS for ‘coppper’ struck me as being a little obscure, but the answer was apparent enough with checking letters so I’ll forgive Hypnos that. A few question marks along the way that I didn’t worry about resolving until I’d finished, the only one I didn’t follow was 14ac, which is explained in the comments on the original blog.

COD? 1ac – ‘Way old man recalled in a class of swingers? (6)’.

Back to June 2012 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/06/17/independent-on-sunday-1164hypnos/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1802 Hypnos”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, I enjoyed working my way through this one too. A nice varied range of clues with a bit of fun here and there, notably the COD and 26ac.

  2. dtw42 said

    I made slow progress with this to start with … then had a sudden rush where most of it went in, then got a little bit stuck again at the end. LOI was 1ac, which I wasn’t impressed with as a word at all, TBH. As with pretty much everyone else, 14ac went it without the slightest idea how (didn’t understand 14dn either, actually). Hey ho.

  3. sprouthater said

    Struggled initially but got their in the end. Now I’ve seen the parsing for 14a I think it’s my clue of the week so far.

  4. Cornick said

    Very nice indeed. Pitched to be consistently challenging but nothing that wouldn’t yield with a little thought. Just right for me on a weekday.

Comments are closed.

