i Cryptic Crossword 1799 Poins

November 14, 2016

I thought this was quite difficult, especially for a Monday, with a number of obscurities, Marshall Ney being chief amongst them. On the other hand, the original blogger found this to be straightforward enough, so take your pick. I seem to remember struggling with Poins in the past, so perhaps I just haven’t got used to his style yet. First in 3d having drawn a blank on all the across clues, finishing in the SW corner with 28ac last to fall.

COD? 18d – ‘Mislead with hint about dead end (8)’.

June 2012 over on the other side:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/06/10/independent-on-sunday-1163-by-poins/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1799 Poins”

  1. AndyT said

    Not just me, then. This felt like a right slog, and not an especially rewarding or enjoyable one either, I’m sorry to say. A few of the definitions seemed open to debate, but the less said the better, probably.

  2. Phil said

    Not what I expect on a Monday

  3. dtw42 said

    Just came on here for a quick glance to see what everyone else has been saying. So far I’ve only got 14 answers in (the whole of the NE corner and a few dotted around elsewhere). I may give up if I don’t make a breakthrough over tea tonight.

  4. sprouthater said

    Struggled a lot with this. Quite a few question marks most not resolved on Fifteensquared and hardly any ticks. This wasn’t to my liking.

  5. dtw42 said

    Just finished now – after lots of brainstorming with my girlfriend over the last eight or nine. Neither of us much impressed with that. Phew!

Comments are closed.

