i Cryptic Crossword 1797 Nestor

November 11, 2016

For me the most difficult puzzle for some time with too many having question marks as I couldn’t parse them, 12a,20a,25a and 7d all being answered courtesy of the synonym definition. 3d and 10d being too over complicated for my taste and  13a and 22d were both new to me.  Of course amongst all this extremely devious wordplay were a few of the more normal shall we say type of clue 1a, 14a, 21a, 27a 2d 16d and 24d  were all  good but

COD 9d  Closely planted hayseed in trial that’s set up  (8)

The June 2012 blog where RatkojaRiku explains all is here http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/06/21/independent-8014-nestor/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1797 Nestor”

  1. dtw42 said

    Quite so; I had several written in faint (most notably 3dn and 25ac) that I couldn’t really unpick, and that I was only happy with once everything else seemed to intersect successfully.

  2. jonofwales said

    This was a real stinker that, to be honest, I didn’t really enjoy. When experienced solvers on Fifteensquared either gave up, didn’t try, or needed help, then the puzzle’s a bit much for a daily cryptic, in my opinion.

  3. AndyT said

    I thought it was a wonderful, brow furrowing puzzle with which to end the week. A large part of the fun for me was unravelling the workings of the clues after the answer had become apparent, but of course this sort of thing isn’t to everybody’s taste. I have seventeen ticks today, which may very well be a record. Bravo, Nestor.

  4. Cornick said

    Yes, all very, very good and if I was a bit better at doing crosswords I’d have probably loved it. As it was I liked it very well for a while but ended up finding it pitched just a bit too hard for me. It filled from the bottom up with 1a providing the biggest d’oh moment almost at the end.

  5. Syd said

    Just got round to this this morning and it was a stinker indeed. Not helped by clues like 20ac. I’m so used to the Times cryptic (as i is only recently on sale again in N Ireland) that answers like Teletubby – infra dig for that organ no doubt – always catch me out.

    • Andrew Varney said

      A spectrum of clues I loved to clues I hated. Didn’t like “significant proportion” for PI and the supposed cryptic definition for TEDDY was not really cryptic. On the other hand the clues for ALTAR, UNDAMAGED and INTERMENT, etc were very pleasing to solve. A lot I had to check up – names of CARTIER BRESSON and DAY-LEWIS (as PL) were not familiar to me, nor was SCADS.

      Only got to solve it because my wife gave up before she started and I was off sick for the day!

Comments are closed.

