i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1786 by Phi

November 5, 2016

Saturday 29th October 2016

Surely nobody who enjoys solving cryptic crosswords can object to recondite words appearing occasionally?  Indeed when striking a defensive pose, ‘learning new words’ is one of the few justifications we have.   On the other hand putting Supererogation, Malgre lui, Myrmidon, Ytterbium, Ami de cour [sic] and Brewpub all in the same puzzle was bound to cause a bit of a fuss among the commenters over at Fifteensquared when this puzzle appeared in Phi’s traditional Independent Friday slot.

For us at the i, however, we got all these juicy words on a weekend and I for one was happy to have the difficulty level cranked up a bit.  Consequently, and by slightly perverse logic, we can expect entries to win that Goodmans radio to have been submitted in record numbers.

COD? Despite strong competition from 15a and its probably having one comma too many,  I’ll plump for 24a:

Established camp, one I’d arranged, hoping for the best (4-11)

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1786 by Phi”

  1. Michael said

    Morning, Cornick. The hyperlink needs correcting – it leads to yesterday’s Tyrus puzzle.
    I liked Myrmidon most of all, but then I’m a sucker for cricket clues.

  2. AndyT said

    Temporary link:
    http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/04/13/independent-7955-phi/

    I very much enjoyed the puzzle, and it’s always gratifying to find that one knows something without having the foggiest idea why (14d). Thanks also to Tom Lehrer once again for fixing 21ac and all the others in my mind. In addition to the aforementioned I also liked 18d.

  3. Cornick said

    Hyperlink now corrected. Thanks to Michael and to AndyT.

  4. jonofwales said

    I’m afraid I was rather less forgiving of all the obscurities. This felt more like Azed than a daily cryptic, albeit in the i a Saturday prize puzzle, and one that required me to know as much French as English. Yours, Disgruntled.

Comments are closed.

