i Cryptic Crossword 1791 Tyrus

November 4, 2016

When I saw it was a puzzle from Tyrus, a setter we don’t often see and who I think has a reputation for setting difficult puzzles I wondered just what was in store for us today? A very good puzzle was the answer, a clearly indicated mini theme relating to terms of scorn and contempt and a couple relating to the kitchen. Just a couple of obscurities (for me) in 23a and 15d, my total lack of interest in football made 25a a guess but it was 16a that really held me up I can’t recall ever hearing the phrase before and the first three words of the clue made me think only of Basil:)  Lots of ticks, too many in fact so

COD  2d     “About to visit hookers?” provokes scornful response (3,5)

All the solutions and explanations for this Saturday prize puzzle from April 2012 are found here  http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/04/28/independent-7962-saturday-prize-puzzle-21st-april-2012-by-tyrus/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1791 Tyrus”

  1. jonofwales said

    A very good puzzle to end the working week, a little tricky in places I thought. I only had the chance to solve a handful of clues before this evening, and was worried it would turn out to be a right stinker. But when I had the chance to sit down quietly most whizzed by, with only a couple holding out at the close. The ‘scornful’ phrases sprang to mind easily enough for the most part, which helped, especially with the longer clues.

    Nice to see 4d edited to bring it up to date. I’m guessing 25ac was as well?

    Lots and lots of ticks by the clue, my favourite the aforementioned 25ac.

  2. AndyT said

    I left it late today, and had some distractions to deal with – heavy calibre professional fireworks down the road and a neurotic cat. The puzzle was so good, though, that I managed to zone both out (until the latter gave me an admonitory nibble on the elbow as a reminder that it was her dinner time. That’s a new one). 14ac took my fancy, in addition to those already mentioned. Bravo Tyrus: top drawer work, and crossword of the week for me by a comfortable margin.

  3. Cornick said

    Joining in with the praise here – terrific and entertaining in spades. The Hammers have indeed only moved at the start of this season – but our editor is apparently a bit of a soccer fan, so that was easy enough for him to update.
    Re 16a, the full version is (I’m told) ‘Talk to the hand ‘cos the face ain’t listening’. I think it features in ‘Jerry Springer, the Musical’.

Comments are closed.

