i Cryptic Crossword 1787 Poins

October 31, 2016

In the original blog for todays puzzle, which is an IOS reprint Pierre comments that these puzzles are usually at the easier end of the scale. Whilst a lot of this puzzle fits that description there are a few which I for one found quite difficult to parse.1d, 14d and 28a were all entered just because they fit and having read the explanations on Fifteensquared I cant say I am much happier. 4a was a groan inducing Spoonerism and 3 clues required a knowledge of French which Pierre might be ok with but I’m 18d against. Both 10a and 20d were solved from the wordplay but I was unfamiliar with there definitions. The rest was fairly standard cryptic fare nothing spectacular but a few ticks for 13a, 23a, 5d and 18d however

COD 17d     Moneypenny dumped in launch as it’s abandoned  (9)

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1787 Poins”

  1. AndyT said

    I’m still not sure what to expect from Poins. He can be very good and there were some flashes today, but it fell a bit short of his best. Spot on with the COD.

  2. jonofwales said

    I was solving late in the evening after having had to trudge round the streets with the youngest trick or treating, which is my excuse for finding some of this a little difficult, especially in the SW corner. I was half-expecting a Halloween theme, but it seems that was to be limited to the concise… Thanks for covering for me today. 🙂

  3. allan_c said

    There was also a halloween theme in the 5-clue cryptic.

Comments are closed.

