i Cryptic Crossword 1783 Dac

October 26, 2016

To pick up on yesterday’s Sherlockian theme for a moment, today’s puzzle, whilst elementary, is not entirely without features of interest. For a start we have three women’s names, and I’m not altogether sure that isn’t two too many. There’s also a man in the bottom left corner the very mention of whom brings a scowl to my face, and I wouldn’t be surprised if the same went for some of you too.

A spot of Hebrew, a dash of German and a soupçon of French were all required, but nothing too challenging. My one real quibble is with 11d, an &lit which does work, but only just. The highlights: 4, 9, 15 and 26 were my favourites, along with the COD, 19ac:

“Almost the opposite to clever Dick in Scottish town (9)”

TheΒ Fifteensquared blog from April 2012 will provide solutions and some discussion, including an appearance by Bannsider. I have no idea how he managed to get “Easter” for 1ac!

15 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1783 Dac”

  1. Michael said

    I think Bannsider probably got Easter from eater (any fruit or vegetable that can be eaten uncooked) around s.

  2. jonofwales said

    Easter was actually my extremely confident first entry at 1ac, based on Michael’s reasoning above. πŸ™‚ 2d fit OK, but then 3d evidently didn’t and the penny dropped. Nothing too difficult today, I thought, a welcome mid-week breather.

  3. dtw42 said

    Quite relieved that the correct 1ac answer was rattling around in the recesses of my memory, and I ran through a list of actual fruits until I hit upon it, in that case!

  4. Cornick said

    I briefly considered Ea(s)ter but couldn’t quite see Dac using Passover as a synonym for Easter, even if there might be some connection between the two – theologians?
    Very much in agreement re forenames, the chap in the corner and the COD.

    • jonofwales said

      The Easter story occurs over the course of Passover. The dates differ now because the church decided to use their own calculations to set the date for Easter, for reasons that elude me. The original Greek and Latin for Easter is Pascha = Passover. The Welsh for Easter is Pasg. πŸ™‚ The name Easter derives from an old English word for the month of April.

  5. AndyT said

    Thank you for your comments everyone. All I can say is it’s a good job it wasn’t Ea[s]ter, because I’d have been off to a very poor start. Easter, it seems tends to coincide with Passover, but sometimes they get out of synch by a month owing to the different calendars. Anyway, although the Christian festival in some sense piggybacks on the Jewish one, they are in no way equivalent.

    Nobody taking the Sherlockian bait, then? πŸ˜‰

  6. allan_c said

    Co-incidence or what? On the same day that Dac in the Indy has POST CHAISE as 1ac, the reprinted Dac from 2012 has POST CHAISE as 1dn. Clued very similarly, too (although not identically).

  7. Syd said

    I too put Easter in quickly. Was convinced it was right so it took an age to get NW going. As for having Bonio in there, didn’t get it. But the clue was misleading. If it had said ‘Type of oaf who wears dark glasses indoors initially belted out short number’ it would have been easy peasy.

  8. Syd said

    Now THAT’s a clue πŸ˜‚

Comments are closed.

