i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1774 by Phi

October 22, 2016

Saturday 15th October 2016

Four long lights formed the main structure of this one; three were anagrams and one was the William Congreve play ‘The Double-Dealer’ – of which I’m ashamed to say (given my repeated calls for more of the dramatic arts in puzzles) I had never heard. The ‘Double’ in the play title intersected with ‘Def’ (part of Deform) and ‘Obiter’ so I was held up at the end of an otherwise steady solve.

I agree with commenters at the Fifteensquared blog here that ‘Marmelise’ should really be spelled ‘Marmalise’ – proof if proof were needed that the i always goes with Chambers’ version of things – right or wrong!

And I liked Wil Ransome’s comment on Fifteensquared, so shall repeat it here:

Did nobody think that 19d was quite outstanding? It seems a pity that such brilliance is apparently taken for granted and will be forgotten tomorrow.

Just for him, I’ll second it as Clue of the Day:

19d Moriarty’s foremost among difficulties for me (6)

P.S.  Big Dave will be publishing one of my puzzles at midday today on his website here(already test solved by JonofWales and AndyT).

 

 

2 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1774 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Good stuff, mostly. I was particularly taken with 1/25. Not so happy with that “def” although it has appeared before, but my main gripe is with 13ac, which in the absence of “dicta” or “dictum” is Latin pure and simple. All well and good for those of us who had that sort of education; pretty hard to nail for those who didn’t (or don’t have a Latin dictionary to hand). That sort of thing presents an impenetrable barrier to younger solvers in my opinion.

    I can scarcely recommend Cornick’s puzzles highly enough: all of them have impressed me and the latest is quite remarkable.

  2. jonofwales said

    2d was a tad obscure, as was 13ac, but the rest went in smoothly enough.

    Congrats on the publication of the latest puzzle, a good one. 🙂

Comments are closed.

