i Cryptic Crossword 1778 Poins

October 20, 2016

A pretty straightforward puzzle today from Poins, solved leisurely over lunch without ever feeling that I might struggle to finish. Which isn’t always the case. 🙂 There’s some discussion over on Fifteensquared about the fairness or otherwise of 6d, but TBH I saw little wrong with the clue, though I must add that I solved based on the definition alone and might have felt otherwise if it was one I was stuck on. I’m not particularly struck by the anagram indicator in 17ac, but it doesn’t seem to have bothered anyone else. All in all a nicely diverting puzzle.

COD? With 28ac a close second, I’m going with 2d – ‘Without enough warning (7)’.

The IoS blog with answers and much more can be found here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/03/04/independent-on-sunday-1149-poins-on-its-way/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1778 Poins”

  1. sprouthater said

    Started off not liking this at all but finished up quite enjoying it. Solved 6d, 17a and 23a by definition alone. 27a feelers = horns really , not in my thesaurus, and what happened with 8d, seems it was originally lad but we got Roland. Wonder why?

  2. AndyT said

    Considerably easier than the usual for a Thursday, which makes me wonder what’s in store for tomorrow. Some nicely turned clues today, especially the COD, but also a couple clunkers (6 and 23). I wasn’t very happy with 17ac, either.

Comments are closed.

