i Cryptic Crossword 1776 Phi

October 18, 2016

A bit of a challenge today for the geographically challenged amongst us. A few places up north I’d heard of, and a few like 24 that might as well have been in Outer Mongolia as far as I was concerned. šŸ™‚ Add to that a bird and ‘writing material’ I’d not heard of either, and I was left with a solve that started at a fair clip, but finished at a crawl.

COD? 18ac – ‘Saint’s dingy resistance, nipping Devil’s extremity (7)’.

Back to April 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/04/06/independent-7949phi/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1776 Phi”

  1. Cornick said

    This was very nice, and I loved the trick of using a grid with a line of symmetry pointing to the North East.

    On reflection though (pardon the pun) I wonder whether 24a – the obvious obscurity – mightn’t have been better clued as ‘village near 1a’, thereby reducing the distance from 43 miles to 5 miles. The other links could have then been re-jigged to maintain the circular chain.

  2. AndyT said

    Jolly good. My only complaint is identical to Cornick’s: 24ac is nowhere near 14d – in fact it’s on the other side of 11ac. On the other hand it’s practically in 1ac. Otherwise, lots of fun, and I felt that 27ac, and 5 and 12d were all splendid.

Comments are closed.

