i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1768 by Phi

October 15, 2016

Saturday 8th October 2016

Pop over to Fifteensquared to read all the answers and parsings for this one – although be prepared for a bit of slightly unnecessary nit-picking from the other channel for what I thought was a puzzle without flaw.

Several questioned the phrase ‘make a long arm’ which is common enough down our way – I use it, and shall now make a point of doing so on a daily basis.

Someone else objected to ‘around’ and ‘keeping’ being a repetition of a containment indicator in 7d – whereas ‘around’ was actually part of the definition.  Another objected to the enumeration in 16a whilst still more objected to clueing ‘Béarnaise sauce’ as ‘light yellow sauce’ which is of course exactly what it is!

Take heed fellow bloggers, lest we too might ever descend into groundless fault-finding.

Who, me?

Narrowly pipping 1a for the accolade of CoD was the imagery provided by 16a:

Rising and falling aboard ship, Henry and friend appear uncertain (12)

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1768 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    I found no nits to pick – in fact nothing to say at all really. All the clues worked just fine for me but none of them stuck out, although 16ac is a good choice for COD if only because the solution is such an agreeable word. By coincidence 1ac appeared in similar guise yesterday:

    “Gutted, Crouch is after an easy goal in case of emergency (2,1,5)”

    Association Football not being my thing, I prefer Phi’s clue, although that use of “apparently” is open to debate.

    • Cornick said

      Yes, ‘without flaw’ is subtly different from ‘flawless’ – which is how I’d describe most of Dac’s offerings, say. Personally I preferred the Nestor clue you mention, though.

  2. dtw42 said

    Yes, when that came up I too thought “Haven’t we had this very recently?”

  3. jonofwales said

    “Make a long arm”, I remember thinking, really, but there it was in Google. Another phrase I’m guessing will never become common parlance in this neck of the woods. 6d I didn’t much like – uncommon words in both the wordplay and definition. The rest went in quickly enough and was as enjoyable as ever, even if one or two needed checking. 🙂

  4. dtw42 said

    Hm, 6dn seemed fine for me; but I agree on “make a long arm” – a phrase I have never heard, and was surprised to find existed when I looked it up.

Comments are closed.

