i Cryptic Crossword 1772 Morph

October 13, 2016

Well, by the end I had lots of ticks by the clues, but I must admit to finding this one hard going. It was solved in fits and starts, with long pauses where I was stuck and getting nowhere. Perhaps at this end of the week my mind isn’t up to the twists and turns required to untangle Morph’s always inventive clues? Or perhaps it’s just the thought of the impending Brexit-driven Marmite shortage. They make Pot Noodles just down the road from us though, so not all is lost. 😉

COD? By a long shot 5d – ‘Woodland inhabitant – Allen-a-dale? (4,2,3,6)’.

Back to the cold(er) days of a Tuesday in February 2012 where, unusually, there wasn’t a theme or Nina to be found:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/02/28/independent-7916morph/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1772 Morph”

  1. AndyT said

    A satisfyingly chewy puzzle. The alternate spelling at 23ac was an eyebrow raiser, but otherwise no quibbles at all. In addition to the COD, 4, 11 and 19 were particularly pleasing.

  2. sprouthater said

    I tend to agree with Jan @ 4 and 9 regarding this puzzle, 9a and 22d I thought iffy, 5d and 25 both required some knowledge of b- list celebrities. Some good clues like 1a,13a and 14d though.

  3. Cornick said

    I found this really, really hard and went to Wordsearchland about halfway through, which hasn’t happened to me for ages. Given most others enjoyment though, I think I’ll choose to attribute my defeat to the dreaded lurgie, rife in Kernow at the moment.

    For 8d, I arrived at the answer by taking prime to be a synonym for soap – like soft-soaping someone – but I now see the S O A POP ERA is pretty brilliant.

  4. dtw42 said

    Yes – found difficult here too (finished the right-hand side okay during the day but had to share several from the left with my girlfriend in the evening in order to finish it off).

    Unlike for Jan, “LITTORAL” was for me the first one in (so it shows we all have different spheres of knowledge), and quite a relief at that point to find one I could do!

Comments are closed.

