i Cryptic Crossword 1770 Eimi

October 11, 2016

Did anyone out there spot the theme? Even after reading Eimi’s comment @13 on the original blog it still took me a while to work out what he was getting at. Anyway, even without picking up on that, this was a fairly 4ac, not too difficult solve. I raised an eyebrow at 27d being used as a noun rather than a verb, but it’s in the dictionary so that’s my fault. The original blogger commented that this would be a good one for solvers still learning the trade, which is probably fair, though there were some tricky bits here and there – B for bomber in 33ac, for example, which threw me for a long time. Last in the NW corner, where 10ac proved to be a key, but difficult clue.

COD? 9d – ‘I’m definitely not hot on education basics, bishop (4)’.

April 2012 over on the other side:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/04/03/independent-7946-eimi/

9 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1770 Eimi”

  1. AndyT said

    I could do with a hefty kick for missing the theme, since it’s something I know well. Sigh. Anyway, a very swift solve today, and lots of fun. Given the rarity of decent Spoonerisms 10ac would have been my personal COD.

    By the way, is it just me or was this week’s Inquisitor uncommonly gentle?

    • jonofwales said

      Yes, surprisingly so. Which probably means there’s one at the other end of the spectrum on the way.

  2. Cornick said

    Dickens’ characters often have names which are words, of course,which is probably why a sprinkling throughout the grid as a ghost theme is very hard to spot.

    A novice might find this very do-able for the first three quarters or so, but the last two or three, including the CoD, were decidedly tricky, I thought.

  3. sprouthater said

    1d seemed the trickiest to me. I don’t associate journalist with tabloids. Generally all good stuff though.

  4. dtw42 said

    all went smoothly enough for me. Theme? Pfff, that passed me by completely. Wonder if anyone’s ever done a grid peppered with Mervyn Peake character names? Last ones in were 30dn and 33ac purely because I’d never heard of that usage of GAL.

Comments are closed.

