i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1762 by Phi

October 8, 2016

Saturday 1st October 2016

A brief account of my solve last weekend:

Minute 1.  With this being Phi and with a grid like that – unches to left and right and 7 three letter lights – remember to look out for a Nina or theme.

Minute 10.  Flying through the Left hand side; half done!

Minute 15. No further progress and I’m stuck.  Ooh, what about that Nina?  …Nothing down the left edge… Hmm, unches across the middle perhaps? (ponderous checking…) Horc ??? … and Harry Potter.  Ah-ha.  HORCRUX, and there in front of me (apart from Harry himself) were DIARY, CUP, LOCKET and SNAKE.  So it’s bound to be quick from now on!

Minute 30. Not so quick after all then.  Ravenclaw’s DIADEM is there, but I’ve been distracted (this usually happens) still have 5 answers to go and, with concentration wavering,  am completely ignorant as the identity of the final horcrux.

Minute 31. 15-yr-old enters room and comes to the rescue with the last horcrux ‘RING’.  Almost there.

Minute 40 (ish) After failing to see the last two intersecting 8d and 10a for what seems like an eternity, the penny finally drops and it’s done, as I grumble/mutter something about NAPLES being defined as ’here’.

COD 2d: Where you’ll find a valley filled with one – Switzerland? (9)

Original blog from Fifteensquared is here.

2 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1762 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Rather different here: I completed the puzzle in the usual matter without spotting anything thematic, but then Googled “horcrux” on a whim. Et voila. My annotations go beyond the usual ticks and question marks, with a “wot?” by 15d, a “yuk” against 24ac, and a “hoho” alongside 18d. 10ac got a tick, although “here” is a pretty inadequate definition for Naples, agreed. I’m also happy to go along with the COD.

  2. jonofwales said

    I found this quite tricky in places. My knowledge of things regarding Harry Potter is somewhere approaching zero, so the theme didn’t help at all. The prospect of having to embark on some DIY didn’t do anything to darken my mood prior to solving. Honest. 🙂

Comments are closed.

