i Cryptic Crossword 1767 Crosophile

October 7, 2016

Did everyone have the typesetters aberration covering most of 22d? luckily that and 24a were write ins like quite a few of the others, though some needed a bit more thought there was nothing that could be classed as obscure. I spent some time trying to find a grouse starting with PE at 13a its so long ago that I was at school that I had forgotten about PT.    5a was fairly easy but where does the R come from, oh because reading is in the clue. I don’t like that at all. I did like the anagrams at 4d and 14a the misdirection at 25a but

COD 21a    They’re close to tongue-tied (9)

The blog from March 2012 and a comment from the setter is here http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/03/25/ios-1152crosophile/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1767 Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    Said aberration put me in an ill humour, but the puzzle cheered me up. So well done to Mr Poole: eight ticks today, which is an excellent showing. 8 and 15d were my favourites.

  2. dtw42 said

    I entertained myself repairing the blunder with correction pen, black ballpoint and ruler; quite a good job I made of it if I say so myself 😛

    Though I’m quite happy with “reading perhaps?” to mean R; there were a couple filled in on the basis of the def and the checked letters alone without fully understanding the wordplay. All fairly straightforward though 🙂

  3. jonofwales said

    11/13/15 were a little tricky I thought, but the rest went in fairly steadily, if not spectacularly quickly. Didn’t like the ambiguity in 13ac about whether it should be PE or PT, but the rest seemed fair enough.

    sdfg repeated. A cryptic message, or someone doodling?

    • dtw42 said

      From the font and the width of the block, I’d say it was a dummy photo caption that had been moved and then not noticed. Can one make a Sherlockian deduction that the typesetter in question was left-handed or else it would have said khlkhlkhjlkjhlkhjlhkjhlkhjlh? Perhaps not…

      • Cornick said

        dtw42 I haven’t got a clue what you’re on about! Same oddity appeared in Cornwall as elsewhere though, although my dog’s dinner of an attempt at rectifying it surely didn’t match up to yours 🙂

      • jonofwales said

        lkjh surely. 😉

  4. Cornick said

    This was rather good I thought – I also had 8 ticks AndyT, though they can’t have been the same ones as you because 8d missed out – ‘etymological crossover’ or something, don’t you know…

    Happy with R for r[eading] because of ‘The 3 R’s’ and it said ‘perhaps’.

Comments are closed.

