i Cryptic Crossword 1765 Dac

October 5, 2016

Sailed through this one with barely a pause: testament either to my finely honed intellect or an unusually soft-boiled puzzle from Dac. Take your pick. I felt rather short changed for my ten bob today, truth to tell.

An observation before launching into the customary plaudits – 23ac is a brand name, and therefore gets a Paddington stare from me. This is, of course, one of my particular bugbears and there’s no law against it, so I shall dismount from my hobby horse and move on, frowning. Otherwise it’s splendid stuff as per. I liked the comment from Kathryn’s Dad on the March 2012Β Fifteensquared blog about following instructions, which is another way of saying that Dac is always scrupulously fair. Favourites today: all the long ones; also 5ac, 16d and 24. I am very tempted by 16ac for COD, but will break my usual rule of disallowing anagrams no matter how good and go for the exceptional clue for 2d:

“Church leaders and priest hail new sect member (15)”

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1765 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Nothing too taxing today, apart from your COD where the anagram took a little unpicking, for me at least. πŸ™‚

  2. sprouthater said

    Good puzzle my LOI was 16a , Creepers for shoes was new to me, yea I’ve heard of brothel creepers but didn’t know there were other types of creeper:-) Some good anagrams I particularly liked 11a and 13a

  3. dtw42 said

    Ha, 16dn on the other hand was MY last one in – Jeepers Creepers I know from the old song (“…where’d ya get those peepers?”) – bu it took me a while to twig where the Welshman came into it (after all, Welshmen in crosswords are usually Dai).

    Anyway, as everyone else says – painless and fairly quick today. πŸ™‚

  4. Cornick said

    What everyone else said.
    Re the article opposite, I hope they’re right about doing crosswords makes your brain better at… doing crosswords, I live in hope.

Comments are closed.

