i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1756 by Phi

October 1, 2016

Saturday 24th September 2016

Some things are new – like 4d PANGOLIN getting a world trade ban this week.  Some things are familiar though, like Phi using ‘mostly’ to clue it… probably his favourite device, I should think.

Phi is a consistently excellent user of anagrams and either 1d or 18a would have made a fine CoD, but on refection, I think I’ll go for this nifty piece of construction for a hard-to-clue word:

10a  ‘The current mood’ I say, turning to follow it in enthusiasm (9)

No themes at all last Saturday, in case you were wondering, and all the answers from 2012 are to be found at the ever-reliable Fifteensquared website here.

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1756 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    The pangolin, (which I’ve always thought of as the animal equivalent of a globe artichoke, incidentally) was a write-in as was the COD, simply because of a paucity of alternatives. Both good clues nonetheless. My favourite, however, was 18ac.

  2. Rick King said

    I liked 10ac, even though I didn’t actually parse it until it was the only word that could fit… All seemed to go quite nicely on this one, thanks for the puzzle and blog

  3. jonofwales said

    Spelling 1d proved to be a challenge, but the rest went in quickly enough while suffering from the first cold of the season. So must have been an easy one. 🙂

Comments are closed.

