i Cryptic Crossword 1761 Nestor

September 30, 2016

A fairly straightforward offering today and not to difficult by Nestors standards. 19a seemed a bit odd using anagram as the indicator and 8d was just too complicated for me and only went in once most of the checking letters were in place which seems to have been the case for most solvers back in 2012. As an ex printer 4 and 5d were write in’s although I cant ever recall hearing 5d used and novel is usually Emma.

Not a lot of multiple ticks, 5d and 12d each getting a couple and 24a particularly for the way warts is clued.

COD   15d Small amount of fun dancing in reel. (8)

for a full explanation especially of 8d and a discussion on Jean Harlow click here –

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/03/29/independent-7942-nestor/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1761 Nestor”

  1. dtw42 said

    the SW corner was a bit tricky for me and in the end I failed to get 22dn (is muck the same as trash? not hugely happy with that but hey ho) but otherwise quite a nice steady pace with some write-ins and some gradual reveals.
    Yeah, 8dn was a “well it must be but I don’t understand how” for me, too.

  2. AndyT said

    Exactly the same as dtw42. Muck, in my opinion is no kind of a synonym for trash – and 8d is a bit of a mess, frankly. The very mention of 7d always makes me smile though, on account of the story recounted by Eimi in comment 12.

    15d is a good choice for COD … Howlin’ Wolf again.

  3. jonofwales said

    SW corner last for me as well. 17d surely should have been marked as archaic. 😉 On the whole easier than I expected from Nestor, with some smiles along the way.

Comments are closed.

