i Cryptic Crossword 1760 Punk

September 29, 2016

Easy in places, a little trickier in others, and entertaining all round. I was short of time today, so was rather hoping this was the kind of puzzle we were going to get, so thanks Eimi. đŸ™‚ A nice, readily solvable long anagram at 4/28 opened up the grid very nicely, with a few checking letters, and things gradually fell into place from there. 13ac was new to me, but the wordplay was nice and friendly, so no complaints. Finished in the far NW and NE corners, time probably about par for the i.

Lots of ticks by the clues, but COD goes to 20d – ‘Knock up prune as something to roast? (7)’.

Back to March 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/03/12/independent-7927-by-punk/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1760 Punk”

  1. Cornick said

    I think we all agree this was entertaining and fun and probably a bit easier than many a Punk, but it’s interesting reading the comments on the other channel about which one or two held people up; we’re all different it seems…
    Personally, with the cry of ‘Gardyloo’ being de rigueur any time any liquid is thrown anywhere down our way, that was a gimme, so it was only1a that held me up, fixated as I was upon some imaginary musical terminology.

  2. AndyT said

    Oddly enough 1ac was a write in for me, because something along the same lines had come up a couple of days ago in an old Times puzzle. Very accessible for Punk, and none the worse for it. 4/28 immediately put me in mind of Howlin’ Wolf, and therefore in a good mood.

  3. sprouthater said

    I’ve seen 1a before and it wasn’t the Times so it seems to becoming a bit of a standard. Felt quite smug about getting 13a from the wordplay especially as we haven’t had to empty our chamber pots into the street for ages now.

  4. dtw42 said

    Okay, the back half of this one took me a while; but nothing unfair so it was just me being slow. 13ac was more or less a write-in. 4/28 on the other hand took me AAAGES to unpick (I was glad of the i’s habit of putting adverts with lots of white space next to the crossword … sorry about that HSBC). 8dn was LOI – some very sneaky construction there.

Comments are closed.

