i Cryptic Crossword 1759 Dac

September 28, 2016

If last week’s Dac puzzle seemed a touch lacklustre, this one is polished to a high sheen. With apologies to Sprouthater, it was rather amusing to see another four-letter port crop up so soon after the discussion of Aden – and not Deal, either.

Plenty of ticks to choose from, of which my favourites were 2, 10 and 13d. Which to choose? Well, the ladies and gentlemen ofย Fifteensquared were particularly keen on the first two back in March 2012, so I may as well go for the latter:

“Way I emulate Pepys perhaps, given allowance (11)”

Marches off, whistling jauntily. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1759 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    All pretty straightforward today. 13d and 2d were my favourites of a good bunch of clues. The port was new to me, something else I’ve learnt from crosswords and will no doubt forget before it’s useful again. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Cornick said

    I’m with Batarde on the CoD, but there wasn’t much in it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    A very enjoyable solve today – well it was once I’d torn out and destroyed the photo on the facing page… Has the picture editor no compassion?

  3. sprouthater said

    A new port for me but gettable non the less. Can’t say I was impressed by the completely obscure( for me) 17d. Funny how a newspaper that that won’t print even mild expletives feels it’s ok to print offensive pictures. So offended was I that I popped over to the Graniard to do an excellent Arachne.

  4. dtw42 said

    Thankfully I did a lot better today than yesterday. 13dn was indeed jolly clever. Just to show we’re not all cut from the same cloth, 17dn was about my fourth one in (I’m afraid I’m one for leaping about the grid rather than trying the clues in order, which can often lead to me only spotting an easy clue ages after I’ve spent far too long puzzling over ones that intersect it), helping to open that corner up. Like John over on fifteeensquared, I didn’t understand how 22ac was supposed to work, though.

Comments are closed.

