i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1750 by Phi

September 24, 2016

Saturday 17th September 2016

In which we learned that STONE FRIGATES (across the bottom row) is the nickname for land-based naval establishments.  H.M.S. RALEIGH near Plymouth is the only one I’ve actually been to, but the grid also revealed WILDFIRE, DRAKE, SULTAN, NEPTUNE and EXCELLENT, whilst ENDURANCE was thrown in for good measure.  Very neat.  I didn’t spot all that of course before going to the Fifteensquared blog, although I did realise there was something vaguely nautical going on.

As for the solve, I started quickly, had plenty of ticks in the margin, but failed at the end with both the answer of 26d (I guessed FUG) and with the parsing of 10a STAID (it was ST[ate] AID).

COD?  Nice to see ‘maybe’ concealing some of the anagram fodder in 12d, but I liked 25a:

Show deference to bloke catching fellow in tricky clue (9)

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1750 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    “Something vaguely nautical” was about as far as I got, too. Although the answer for 7d was clear enough, the parsing wasn’t altogether clear to me – rather a natty clue as it turns out. All highly satisfactory; I particularly liked 10 and 14ac.

  2. Rick King said

    Missed week before last, managed this one…eventually…but of a grind, not helped by Anacreon…that was a Google in the end, but must admit the clue was fair, if obscure. Good theme once revealed, I seldom pick these up until it’s far too late for them to help but nice to have that extra later. Thanks Cornick and Phi

  3. jonofwales said

    Yes, I missed the theme too. 🙂 Found most of this fairly straightforward, except 20ac and 14ac which weren’t.

Comments are closed.

