i Cryptic Crossword 1755 Crosophile

September 23, 2016

A slightly easier challenge than the previous couple of days but it was in my case still a challenge. No complaints though It all seemed pretty fair. The wordplay for some like 15a and 6d seeming to me extremely complicated and not having read any Pooh stories for about 30 years didn’t help with my understanding of 17a either. 15d was the only one real obscurity although I doubt there are any 28a’s about nowadays. There was a theme based around 15d which is explained on Fifteensquared  I of course didn’t see it.

COD 29a  General hospital provides piece of cake (5)

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1755 Crosophile”

  1. jonofwales said

    The theme went totally over my head as well. 🙂 Reasonably challenging, but less of a grind than yesterday’s. A couple of obscurities in the SW corner, UN for ONE in 15d which I’m never quite convinced by, and the misspelling of OWL all threw me a little. The latter despite reading the books many times over the years… By and large an enjoyable puzzle.

  2. AndyT said

    I spent quite a while looking for the 15d to no avail, although it jumps out when you read the explanation. Clever stuff: I enjoyed this a lot more than yesterday’s and would rate it as Crosophile’s best in the i to date. It has to be said, however, that there’s still more than a whiff of the barred puzzle about his style … that’s not necessarily a complaint. In fact, crossword of the week for my money.

  3. Cornick said

    It’s interesting to see Crosophile moving into the top end of difficulty here – didn’t he start off as a Monday setter?
    A nifty quincunx idea which I was glad to read about at Fifteensquared. I might have stood a better chance of spotting it had the O’s been in the corners!
    I would agree with Andy on this being the best Crosophile to date (despite some barred-style bits and the unnecessary and misleading ‘A’ in 13a) but for me I’d give the Puzzle of the Week to yesterday’s Monk. 🙂

Comments are closed.

