i Cryptic Crossword 1752 Anax

September 20, 2016

We go for months without seeing Anax and then get him twice in a week. This was quite tough in places, as you expect from this setter, but I found it accessible, with lots of easier clues to get us into the puzzle, and though there were quite a few that I couldn’t explain at the end (spookily, almost exactly the same clues that the 2012 blogger struggled with), I got there in the end. A well flagged theme helped, of course, otherwise I suspect I would have been stuck in the far NW corner. 11ac still doesn’t work for me, as it didn’t for many back in the day, ironically as Anax apparently figured this one to be a fairly straightforward starter clue. Pleased to see that 22ac was edited for its appearance today. The editor’s on the ball. πŸ˜‰

It appealed to my sense of humour, and made me groan, so COD goes to 10ac – ‘Madagascan native’s answer to “OΓΉ est le graffiti?” (5)’.

To the winter of 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/02/16/independent-7906anax/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1752 Anax”

  1. dtw42 said

    Hm, I failed completely on 8dn (clearly had to be royal something but couldn’t parse the clue) and 14ac (old blog not a lot of help there, eh!). Not having got 8dn made me reluctant to put in 16ac, which I could see from the definition but again not understand the wordplay.
    Hey ho; got the rest of it done in reasonable time, though many bits were, er, kind of chewy. On the other hand, 11ac, once I unpicked it, was less of a grumble for me than it seems to have been for others. I thought 6dn was a bit of a rubbish word though.

  2. AndyT said

    Much the same here. I do enjoy banging heads with Anax, but he does tend to operate at the outer limits of what I’d consider fair and above board. He certainly dug pretty deep for some of the definitions today, blowing the dust off a few long neglected meanings. Anyway, just glad to have dragged my 16ac over the finishing line in a reasonable time. πŸ™‚

  3. StanXYZ said

    Thanks all.

    What was the original clue for 22a?

    I don’t but the”i” on Saturday.

    • jonofwales said

      It would presumably have said regular Friday setter. Phi sets the Friday Independent, which is reprinted in the Saturday i four years on. πŸ™‚

  4. sprouthater said

    Much the same experience as dtw42. Too many question marks that even after reading Fifteensquared produced more tuts than ah’s, chamber = po being the worst. Of the rest both 13 and 14d took my eye

  5. Cornick said

    Good puzzle but took me way longer than it probably should have. Pleased at least to have finished and delighted to come here to clear up those question marks with the parsing like Gypsy = Rom which was quite unexpected.

Comments are closed.

