I Cryptic Crossword 1749 Nestor

September 16, 2016

A real tour de force from Nestor today. I really think this should have been a Saturday prize puzzle so that I could have had the whole weekend to tussle with and enjoy properly. I couldn’t finish this without some electronic assistance as there were quite a few references to things I didn’t know like Gary and 13d. There are too many good clues to mention but I think for

COD 8d    Cash in one’s chips about to keep 7 behind (8)

The Blog and full explanation from February 2012 is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/02/02/independent-7894-nestor/

 

9 Responses to “I Cryptic Crossword 1749 Nestor”

  1. AndyT said

    For some reason I got it into my head that this was going to be one of those teeth grinding slogs, before realisation dawned that we had a crossword of the week on our hands, full of deft misdirections and sleights of hand. A splendid puzzle, worth a “bravo” for 13d alone.

  2. jonofwales said

    A good puzzle that wasn’t as hard as it first appeared, but that held out for an age at the close. My last in were 8/23/25. Quite a few went in on definition alone, quite a few required careful parsing of the wordplay, and quite a few totally bamboozled me. 🙂 The definition at 10ac tickled me.

  3. Cornick said

    Failed on the excellent COD – guessing ‘retrieve’ – but pretty pleased to otherwise finish a tough puzzle which was quite a struggle for me.

    Looks like (now that Simon Cowell is back on X Factor, don’t you know) Eimi changed Gary Barlow to Gary, Indiana. Once upon a time the busiest road in the world ran between it and Chicago – I wonder if that’s still the case…

    • sprouthater said

      I read the comment about the X Factor judge but didn’t have a clue about what it was referring to, and according to Wikipedia the world’s busiest road is Highway 401 in Canada.:-)

      • Cornick said

        Alas much of my useless information is derived from either Ross & Norris McWhirter circa 1976 or the televisual tastes of my nearest & dearest 🙂

  4. dtw42 said

    Electronic assistance required for the home stretch here, too. 8dn and then 20ac were last in for me. A bit of, er, self-kicking when the penny finally dropped with Gary, since I’d convinced myself I didn’t know any Indianan cities.

    Given yesterday’s comments about proper names, what does the panel think about 9ac and, perhaps more cheekily, 22dn?

    • AndyT said

      I didn’t care for 9ac because it could only be one person really, so the rather natty wordplay went to waste; 22d was distinctly chucklesome however. I was chuffed about Gary because I only know of two places in Indiana (the other being Indianapolis).

  5. dtw42 said

    Oops, the stuff about names was Wednesday. How time flies.
    13dn was, by the way – to second AndyT’s note – very clever. 🙂

    • sprouthater said

      I don’t like proper names in crosswords. I only got 9a because of a track on a Peter Gabriel album.

Comments are closed.

