i Cryptic Crossword 1748 Anax

September 15, 2016

A step up in difficulty today from the easy puzzles that started the week, but perhaps on the easier side for Anax despite being a Saturday prize puzzle reprint. A few obscurities – ORT, NARY, and the first definition in 6ac spring to mind – but the only obscure answer was a hidden one, and there were enough easy clues dotted around the grid to get us started. Seeing Anax’s name above a puzzle always fills me with trepidation, but the last few we’ve had in the i have been pretty accessible.

COD? 3d – ‘Power corrupt, you’ll claim it as refuge? (9,6)’.

March 2012 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/03/17/independent-7926-by-anax-saturday-prize-puzzle-10-march-2012/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1748 Anax”

  1. AndyT said

    I don’t much care for “ort”, but otherwise no complaints. Not a particularly entertaining puzzle, frankly, but a decent challenge nonetheless.

  2. sprouthater said

    More question marks than ticks here. Found it a bit of a slog to be truthful. Didn’t help that I had not heard of a whiff as a boat but found that skiff also means a puff so was convinced my parsing was correct.

    • jonofwales said

      I had skiff in mind for a long time, but wasn’t convinced enough about either until I had the first letter checked.

  3. Cornick said

    3d, 9a and 20a were three of the best long anagrams I can remember seeing. To have them all in the same puzzle is quite remarkable. I’d have given top spot to the Q & A of 9a, but only by a nose.
    Pity about ort, whiff, nary and UPS, but otherwise I was more than 17a.

  4. dtw42 said

    Hm, horses for courses; I’m more with Sprouthater on this one. About the last eight or nine were filled in by using a wordfinder out of sheer desperation. After doing 1ac (and the left side of 20ac) I thought we might be on our way to a Vonnegut theme, but no. (One to explore myself, perhaps…)

Comments are closed.

