i Cryptic Crossword 1747 Dac

September 14, 2016

Are we to assume that Dac’s appearances in the i are now on a fortnightly basis? All the more reason to savour them. Today’s puzzle took me a little longer than usual, but that’s easily explained by the unseasonable heat and the return of Hedgetrimmer Man.

If one consults the relevant Fifteensquared blog from March 2012, one will find a comment from Dac himself, which is unusual. It’s to the effect that the appearance of both 1d and 13ac in the same crossword is a coincidence, to which my reaction was “huh”? Anyway, although the inclusion of living people is frowned upon by some, I hope we can all agree that the couple were treated to a pair of excellent clues? Other favourites included 12 and 20ac, and 19d, but I find myself impaled on the horns of a dilemma re the COD. Ordinarily I reject anagrams for consideration, however apt, but 18ac really is a gem; and then there’s 27ac, which wins on a coin toss:

“Sherry is in short supply, my boy (6)”

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1747 Dac”

  1. dtw42 said

    Fair-to-middling progress for me today, but finished without any difficulties. 12 and 27ac were last in. Not sure I’m happy with so many surnames in crosswords in theory, but at least the two celebs and 1 fictional ‘tec were all familiar to me on this occasion.

  2. jonofwales said

    I found today’s to be pretty easy, with loads going in on definition alone. In Wales we’ve had a few days of seasonably wet, grey and cool weather, so perhaps that has helped. I much prefer having living people in clues to the alternative elsewhere, where “famous actor” inevitably leads to TREE, who died in 1917, and is far from being so. 🙂

  3. StanXYZ said

    A lovely crossword from Dac,

    I particularly liked the 18a anagram.

    I noticed the coupling of 1d & 13a immediately!

    Maybe we will see her soon on Channel 4 – #GBBO – but maybe not.

  4. Cornick said

    I must confess to being slightly surprised at the lack of effusive drooling over this puzzle, which I thought was a humdinger. Medium difficulty, probably even on the easy side, but the cluing was sublime, I thought. He just makes every word seems like it was perfectly suited to being clued. Brilliant!

    • allan_c said

      The problem is that Dac’s crosswords are so perfectly crafted (though there was one in the online Indy recently that some fifteensquared bloggers/commenters thought wasn’t quite up to his usual standard) that people run out of ways to drool effusively. I enjoyed this one the first time round and, having forgotten it, this time as well. Great stuff.

      • batarde said

        You are quite correct: my supply of effusive drool ran dry some time ago. I’m wary of boring the reader by banging on about the sheer elegance of Dac’s technique or reeling off long lists of scintillating clues – mind you, I agree with Cornick that this one was an uncommonly good ‘un.

      • Cornick said

        We are truly spoilt.

Comments are closed.

