i Cryptic Crossword 1746 Raich

September 13, 2016

An enjoyable, straightforward puzzle from Raich. The theme revealed itself pretty early on when I solved 24ac, jotted in 9/28/31 then based on the enumeration, and looked with suspicion at the outside of the grid. I must admit to never having seen any of the films referenced, but I can’t imagine many solvers weren’t familiar with the titles at least. 7ac I think I might have struggled with a little if I didn’t know the title.

One or two obscurities in the wordplay – all of 10ac, and TR for translated in 8d, but the definitions were forthcoming enough so no complaints.

COD? 6ac – ‘Ambitious wife ordered double (5-2)’.

Back to March 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/03/18/independent-on-sunday-1151-by-raich/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1746 Raich”

  1. AndyT said

    7ac was my last in, because I thought I’d better check up on the film. Otherwise straightforward but enjoyable (except for the “being” part of 10ac, which is tiresome).

  2. sprouthater said

    7a was my loi too and didn’t know the film’s were all connected to one actor. Pretty straightforward though, some like 29 and 30d a bit too straightforward.

  3. dtw42 said

    Similarly: I saw the grid, thought “Hello, there’ll be a theme or a nina or both here” … did a few (I think 12ac was first in), got to and solved 24ac, then instantly went back and filled in 9/28/31 without needing to check the wordplay, looked then at the top row of downs to see how they would go if beginning with J, A, M, etc, and sped on from there.

    10ac was last; not familiar with “ens”: bah.

  4. Cornick said

    Similar here too. Confidently inserted the Nina with just Jam_ _ _ _ _ n which obviously helped a lot.

    10a my LOI, not helped by
    a) the enumeration also fitting ‘ensnared’ and
    b) seeing ‘enslaved’ clued by my wife’s maiden name with an extra s on the end.

Comments are closed.

