i Cryptic Crossword 1741 Nitsy

September 7, 2016

Rather than the usual Wednesday Dac today’s puzzle is by Nitsy, whose nom de plume puts me in mind of a Teletubby. Having made a flying start I did wonder fleetingly whether it was going to be a sort of My First Cryptic Crossword, but although it was distinctly gentle there was enough substance to keep the more experienced solver entertained, albeit mildly.

Nitsy deserves some praise for writing concise clues with smooth surfaces for the most part, although I fear there was nothing especially novel (and rather too many anagrams for my taste). Clue of the day candidates included 10 and 25ac, as well as 16d, but in the absence of any “wow” moments I’ll give it to a simple one which raised a chuckle, 23d:

“Inside jobs apparently jacked up troublemaker’s punishment (4)”

This is a reprint from the IoS in February 2012. TheΒ Fifteensquared blog will supply solutions but not much in the way of discussion on this occasion, because there really isn’t all that much to say.

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1741 Nitsy”

  1. Cornick said

    What you said, but I had 16d in front by a nose. πŸ™‚

  2. jonofwales said

    The easiest one we’ve had in a while, which I didn’t mind, because I’ve been decidedly off-form the past week. Has Dac been moved to a fortnightly slot?

  3. dtw42 said

    Not just you, JoW – I seem to have been off form (of there have been a bunch of toughies lately) of late, with a couple abandoned unfinished recently. Still, this one – instead of taken to work to fill idle minutes at my desk – was accidentally finished before I left the house this morning. Oops. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

