i Cryptic Crossword 1739 Poins

September 5, 2016

An IoS reprint that I found on the tricky side. The Fifteensquared blogger described it as being straightforward, so perhaps I’m just off-form. A grid that left four almost unconnected corners didn’t help, and perhaps unfamiliarity with the setter. Gripes? The town in 1d is pretty obscure, though the answer isn’t, so I suppose that’s fair enough.

COD? 6d – ‘Disgrace of knight found with office worker in bed (8)’.

Back to February 2012:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/02/05/independent-on-sunday-%E2%80%94-placeholder/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1739 Poins”

  1. Cornick said

    That grid was a bit meh, wasn’t it? A sprinkling of excellent clues (I also liked 23a) made it worthwhile though.

  2. sprouthater said

    I rated this as ok or nothing to get overly troubled with couple of question marks but they proved unfounded. Intrigued by the deleted negative comments though.

  3. AndyT said

    Not very impressed with the grid. Good in parts, but I’ll admit to having found this a chore towards the end.

Comments are closed.

