i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1732 by Phi

September 3, 2016

Saturday 27th August 2016

Christopher Priest anyone?  His novels include The Affirmation, The Glamour, The Prestige, The Extremes and The Islanders, all of which appeared in the completed grid, along with the author himself.

Nothing too tricky (relatively speaking) although I was rather slow to spot the link between Priest and Prestige – I don’t think I’ve seen that before, but I liked it.  Overall this was certainly a good deal easier than the last four days have been, plus there are a goodly addition of ticks in the margin, so I must have enjoyed it.

One minor quibble is Phi’s use of ‘mostly’ to indicate last letter deletion. Three times plus a ‘most of’ seems a bit excessive.  However, people who live in glass houses etc…. I’ve got a puzzle of my own (under the name of Maize) on Big Dave’s website appearing at midday today, but at least it’s already been test solved by JonofWales and AndyT.

However you’ll be more interested in the Fifteensquared blog from March 2012 which has all the Phi answers plus explanations.

COD: 18d A couple of days fighting in reference in TV show (3,5)

And no, I didn’t spot the ghost theme at all.

 

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1732 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Nope, never heard of him, so another theme goes sailing straight over my head. I seem to have enjoyed it too judging by the ticks, but there’s a “pfft!” next to 17d. Agreed on the COD; I also liked 12ac.

  2. jonofwales said

    Another one who’d not heard of him. I solved this fairly quickly tired after driving up late from the SW, so it can’t have been that difficult…

  3. jonofwales said

    PS Congrats on getting your puzzle on Big Dave’s site. It’s a good one. 🙂

Comments are closed.

