i Cryptic Crossword1735 Dac

August 31, 2016

With JonofWales back at the helm of idothei and Dac in his usual Wednesday slot, normal service has been well and truly restored. That today’s puzzle was a good one hardly needs saying, therefore, with a rather impressive complement of ticks in the margin.

A couple of question marks, too, just for once. I’m not bowled to find words like 4d in a crossword (the clue is fine though); and as any pedant worth their salt will point out the job of a 26ac is to pick up as little as possible. Never mind. 9, 8 and 11d were all nicely assembled, whilst both the 14s were worthy of a quiet chuckle. My COD is the modest but exemplary 10ac:

“Dishes cooked in the south-west (5)”

For a thorough post mortem, see the Fifteensquared blog from back in February 2012.

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword1735 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Normal service is resumed. 🙂 I had a couple of question marks today as well as ticks, so a similar experience to you I suspect. I found this a little trickier than usual for Dac, though overall time was a little under par for the i. Is 4d really considered a foreign supermarket now? It’s been around so long it doesn’t feel any more foreign than, say, Asda, which is American owned these days.

  2. sprouthater said

    With the exception of 4d and 14a I found this quite straightforward. Can’t remember ever hearing Tom for a prostitute before but I haven’t had any experience in that area. Are there Netto shops in the UK? All we have is Lidl.

  3. Cornick said

    Never heard of Netto, although I have been through Denmark. Never heard a record player arm called a tone arm, although I have handled one plenty. Unfortunately the latter piece of ignorance coincided with my inexperience in the world of prostitution, so 26a got an unsmiley face from me.
    Lots to like though, along with batarde’s selection I enjoyed the nifty anagram at 15a.

  4. AndyT said

    Am I the only one who had heard of the kind of tom to be found in a cathouse, then? How embarrassing. It’s quite possibly something I picked up from the linguistically pungent “Ripper Street” on the TV.

Comments are closed.

