i Cryptic Crossword 1734 Radian

August 30, 2016

8d was my first answer in when I realised we were looking for examples of it, but it still took a while to fill the grid, with some quite tricky clues along the way. A bit of text speak in 24ac will raise one or two eyebrows, but the definition was a pretty straightforward one so I’ll forgive Radian for that. LOI 13/22 – the EDEN bit was pretty apparent, but the rest together with an obscure, to me at least, answer, had me stumped for an age. 17d I’m guessing would have sprung to mind more readily back in the day than they do now. The perils of reprinted crosswords… I’m not sure how quickly I would have got 18d either if it wasn’t for our Saturday blogger’s alter-ego Maize. 🙂

Quite a few question marks by the clues at the end, that Fifteensquared ably explained, but also many ticks. COD goes to 20d – ‘Concentrate, otherwise children lose heart (6)’.

Back to February 2012 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/02/10/independent-7901radian/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1734 Radian”

  1. AndyT said

    A decent enough thematic, although I had a few quibbles. 11, 17 and 21 were all pleasing, but I’m still mulling over 13/22. In my experience the top flat has the highest number … I suspect a different system obtains in more elevated circles, though.

  2. Cornick said

    With both Maize and Eden in the puzzle, plus a theme I impart to the young of Britain on a regular basis, this should have been right up my street.
    However (and despite getting 8d early doors) several stretches to crossword language – container indicators like ‘controls’ and ‘obsessed by’ for example – made it quite a struggle.
    Failed on 13/22a.

  3. dtw42 said

    I abandoned this with very few put in. Obviously wasn’t firing on all cylinders.

Comments are closed.

