i Cryptic Crossword 1731 Monk

August 26, 2016

I found this extremely hard, in fact I gave up, just too many words and expressions that I had not come across before and quite a few answered without fully understanding why.

I can’t remember having come across the on vacation device as used in 22 and 24ac before but found this very pleasing so-

COD 22a  In Truro, on vacation, returned books. (3,9)

Apparently there is a Nina.

A full explanation and a comment from the setter can be found here http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/01/05/independent-7870-monk/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1731 Monk”

  1. AndyT said

    Blimey … Monk the Merciless. I think he might have outdone Tyrus yesterday for sheer impenetrability. Give me a while and I’ll probably say I enjoyed it, but right now I think I need to lie down. 🙂

    Quite a few flashes of real brilliance today, of which 17 was my favourite. It would be churlish not to give Monk another “bravo”. Goodness, what an outstanding week of crosswords.

  2. Cornick said

    Yes, we’ve been spoilt this week – I only hope JonofWales was able to get hold of the i whilst on holiday.

    I was able to do this at one sitting – but that sitting lasted about an hour, so don’t enter me for a speed solving competition just yet. 🙂

    Lots to like including, for me, 18d – although purists at 225 were happy to point out that whereas capitalisation may be added to deceive, it may not be omitted to deceive. Lord only knows why!

Comments are closed.

