i Cryptic Crossword 1727 Poins

August 22, 2016

Jonofwales is off doing something important today so I am filling in.

Todays puzzle is a reprint from the I.O.S. and provoked a couple of comments on Fifteensquared  regarding the obscurity of 29a which whilst being a new word to me was solved partly by the wordplay and partly by luck and only entered after checking with a dictionary. It was 23a that I found really hard to parse, yes the answer was obvious once the checking letters were in but I think the wordplay relied on too many obscure references. There are though plenty of good clues on offer, I liked 6d a lot although that was only solved once the checking letters were in , I don’t automatically think of Edith when I see “girl” I was pleased to solve 27a from the wordplay but it is not a word that I would associate with revolution. Others that had ticks were 13a,19a, 21a and 18d but for COD I think that goes to my LOI

11d    Norm gets upset after the first gin (4)

Back to January 2012  here   http://www.fifteensquared.net/2012/01/08/independent-on-sunday-1141-by-poins/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1727 Poins”

  1. AndyT said

    Quite a lot of fair comment over at 15². I enjoyed it well enough, but it’s rather a stiff puzzle for a Monday (or Sunday, originally). 23ac seemed a bit much to me, and 29ac was a good example of Arachne’s Law in action. On the credit side, agreed on 6 and 11; I also particularly liked 9 and 22.

  2. Cornick said

    Having come to expect something pretty straightforward on a Monday I was (maybe unfairly) less than willing to tussle with the last few tricksy ones here – like 29a, for which I couldn’t be bothered to walk all the way over to the dictionary, so it remained unsolved.
    Some goodies preceded it though.

Comments are closed.

