I Cryptic Crossword 1725 Klingsor

August 19, 2016

Some very entertaining and devious cluing from Klingsor today. Unfortunately I made it even more difficult for myself by misspelling 9a then spending ages trying to make sense of 5d. It didn’t help that I like the original blogger had never heard of 1a, when I see Brussels I just think of sprouts. My main complaint today is with the lack of space round the puzzle for all the working out I needed to do.

Of the clues only 14a is still a bit of a mystery, it was entered as it is the only fuel additive that I know and I could see the “tikka” part but where the rest comes from? Lots of ticks though I particularly liked 13, 18, and 24a  3, 4, 7, 12 and 16d but

COD 25a   Like Paddington Station originally surrounded by water?  (6)

The blog for this Saturday prize puzzle from December 2011 is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/12/24/independent-7854-by-klingsor-saturday-prize-puzzle-17122011/

4 Responses to “I Cryptic Crossword 1725 Klingsor”

  1. dtw42 said

    NO = “taking back on” in anagram of (CN = “case of chicken” (i.e. the outsides of the word) + TIKKA)

    No, I’d not heard of 1ac either.

  2. jonofwales said

    I’d vaguely heard of 1ac, and the checking letters of the second bit screamed DIEU (to me at least), but it was still one of a couple of clues that were a little tricky. The rest went in, for the most part, pretty rapidly. Lots of nice clues. 20ac might be an old joke, but I’d not heard it before. 😀

  3. AndyT said

    I’ve been really impressed with Klingsor recently, and thought this was a sterling puzzle. Plenty of COD candidates, but 25 would’ve been my choice too. More like this, please. 🙂

  4. Cornick said

    Apart from a couple in the NW corner for which I needed my Chambers Crossword Dictionary, this was every bit as enjoyable as Anax on Tuesday. If we were to instigate a ‘Puzzle of the Week’ award, I’d call it a draw.

Comments are closed.

