i Cryptic Crossword 1722 Anax

August 16, 2016

A fairly straightforward, fun puzzle from Anax, with a theme based around 23/13. For anyone familiar with the films (and who isn’t?) this was a major boost on its own, but the rest was surprisingly straightforward for a setter I usually struggle with.

Lots of ticks today, but COD goes to 10ac – ‘Major sulk, they say, the sign of an exclusive establishment (4,3)’.

We’re back to Christmas 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/12/19/independent-7855-by-anax/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1722 Anax”

  1. dtw42 said

    Filled this all in fairly quickly and smoothly, with the exception of 8dn, which I failed to get, and which seemed out of place in its obscurity. Not much of a fan of “see”=c, to be honest. But everything else was nice enough 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    Quickest Anax ever, probably, and a strong early contender for puzzle of the week. All highly enjoyable, although I share dtw42’s reservations about that “see”, and have my doubts about the “mistake” in 11ac, too. Those aside the overall standard was A1 though.

  3. Cornick said

    I thought this was wonderful. I probably use the word every time about Anax, but what I love about his clues is that they are so very INVENTIVE, which I find extremely joyful.
    Having said that, I do agree with the quibbles mentioned above.

Comments are closed.

